Torque Density in Humanoid Actuators: The N·m per kg That Decides What a Robot Can Do
Torque density: the N·m per kilogram that decides what a humanoid can do
A humanoid joint has one job description written in a single unit: newton-metres per kilogram. Every kilogram of actuator hanging in a leg must be carried, swung and stopped by the actuators above it, so the torque-to-mass ratio of the joints compounds through the whole body. Here is what the number means, what today’s hardware actually delivers, and how to read the very different figures vendors publish.
Sources: Unitree H1 specifications; Firgelli humanoid actuator engineering guide; TechBuzz China Humanoid Robotics Tracker. Figures use each source’s own definition — see below for why that matters.
What torque density actually measures
Torque density — also called specific torque — is output torque divided by the mass that produces it. It is the rotary cousin of the power-to-weight ratio that decides aircraft, and it matters for the same reason: a humanoid carries its own actuators everywhere it goes. A stationary industrial arm can bolt a heavy gearbox to the floor; a biped cannot. Firgelli’s engineering guide puts typical industrial servo actuators at 5–10 N·m/kg and argues that a humanoid joint only becomes viable above roughly 15 N·m/kg peak, competitive above 25, and state of the art above 35 — while linear actuators are judged on the equivalent specific force, with a target above 4,000 N/kg.
The catch is that “the mass that produces it” is negotiable, and vendors negotiate it aggressively. A bare frameless torque motor of the kind used in humanoid joints delivers only about 2–5 N·m/kg by itself, per TechBuzz China’s component tracker. The reducer multiplies that torque 6× to 120× depending on architecture, which is how a complete joint reaches tens of newton-metres per kilogram — but the reducer, encoder, driver board, housing and output bearing all add mass of their own. Whether a published figure divides by the motor’s mass or by the whole module’s mass changes the answer by several multiples.
Figure 1 · Animated · Where the kilograms sit in a rotary humanoid joint — the three mass groups highlight in turn
Illustration: humanoid.guide. Schematic only; proportions are not to scale. Animation is CSS-only and respects reduced-motion settings.
The ladder: from industrial servo to state of the art
Very few humanoid makers publish both peak torque and module mass for the same part, which is why honest module-level anchors are rare and precious. The clearest one on the open market is CubeMars’ AK80-9, the quasi-direct-drive module descended from the MIT Mini Cheetah playbook: 9 N·m rated and 22 N·m peak from a 485 g package that includes motor, 9:1 planetary reducer, encoder and driver. Divide and you get roughly 45 N·m/kg peak and 19 N·m/kg rated — the same actuator, a factor of 2.4 apart, depending on which torque you quote. That gap is the thermal story: peak torque is a burst number, and the continuous figure is set by how fast the joint can shed heat.
Chart 1 · Peak torque density at module level, N·m/kg — thresholds and a published anchor
Sources: thresholds and industrial range from Firgelli’s humanoid actuator engineering guide; AK80-9 bar computed by humanoid.guide from CubeMars’ published 22 N·m peak / 485 g (V3.0); Unitree H1 specifications page for the M107 claim.
Table 1 · Published torque-density anchors and what mass they divide by
| Product / class | Torque | Mass | Density | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CubeMars AK80-9 (V3.0) | 9 N·m rated · 22 N·m peak | 485 g | ≈19 / ≈45 N·m/kg | Full module incl. driver; density computed from published specs |
| Unitree M107 (H1 knee) | 360 N·m peak | Not published | 189 N·m/kg | Vendor claim; mass basis not stated on the spec page |
| Frameless torque motor, alone | — | — | 2–5 N·m/kg | Motor only, before the reducer; humanoid-grade units |
| Industrial servo actuator | — | — | 5–10 N·m/kg | Typical complete industrial unit |
| Schaeffler humanoid actuator | 60–250 N·m | Not published | — | Integrated rotary module range, CES 2026; no mass disclosed |
Sources: CubeMars AK80-9 product pages; Unitree H1 specifications; TechBuzz China Humanoid Robotics Tracker (frameless motors); Firgelli engineering guide (industrial servos); Schaeffler press release, Jan 2026. “—” means no public figure.
The definition games vendors play
Unitree’s H1 page is the best worked example in the industry. It states 360 N·m of knee torque and a peak torque density of 189 N·m/kg for the M107 joint motor — a spectacular number, more than five times Firgelli’s state-of-the-art bar. Both figures can be true at once because they almost certainly divide by different masses: 189 N·m/kg is presented as a motor-level figure, and the page does not say whether the mass in the denominator includes the reducer, encoder, driver and housing that a working knee cannot do without. Neither figure is wrong; they are answers to different questions.
When you compare actuators — or robot spec sheets — four questions strip most of the marketing out of a torque-density claim.
- Peak or continuous? Peak is a seconds-long burst limited by magnetics and current; continuous is limited by heat. The AK80-9’s own numbers differ by a factor of 2.4. A robot that must hold a squat lives on the continuous figure.
- Motor or module? A bare frameless motor at 2–5 N·m/kg becomes a module at tens of N·m/kg only after the reducer — and the reducer, bearing, driver and housing can outweigh the motor. Module-level mass is the number the leg actually carries.
- At what ratio? Gearing up multiplies torque density but taxes back-drivability and reflected inertia. A 100:1 harmonic joint and a 9:1 quasi-direct-drive joint at the same N·m/kg are very different joints to control, as our QDD explainer lays out.
- With or without the sensor stack? Torque sensors, dual encoders and brakes are heavy. Vendors that quote the stripped unit look better on paper than the ones that quote the part you can actually bolt into a shoulder.
Why every gram compounds in a biped
Torque density matters more in a humanoid than in almost any other machine because the penalty is recursive. Add 500 g to a knee actuator and the hip must produce more torque to swing the heavier shin — so the hip actuator grows, the waist that carries the hip grows, and the battery that feeds them all grows. Aircraft designers call this the weight spiral; humanoid designers live it joint by joint, and it is why mass sitting far from the torso hurts most. It is also why tendon-driven hands relocate finger actuators into the forearm and why several makers pull knee and ankle actuators up the limb and reach the joint through linkages.
The stakes are counted in dozens of parts. A full-size humanoid carries roughly 25–35 powered joints, and actuators account for the majority of the robot’s material cost. That makes torque density a supply-chain number as much as an engineering one: the maker who hits the same joint torque with 20 percent less mass ships a lighter, longer-running robot at lower cost per unit — which is exactly the race the actuator supplier landscape is being run over.
Go deeper: The Humanoid Actuation Report
249 pages on motors, reducers, screws, bearings, encoders and drives, the vendors behind every major platform, and the cost curves that decide adoption to 2036.
The Humanoid Actuation Report All joints & actuators articles All humanoid.guide reportsKeep reading · Joints & actuators
Related articles
FAQ
What is torque density in a robot actuator?
Output torque divided by the mass that produces it, in newton-metres per kilogram. It tells you how much joint strength a robot buys per kilogram it must carry. The honest version divides by the whole module’s mass — motor, reducer, encoder, driver, bearing and housing — and states whether the torque is peak or continuous.
What torque density does a humanoid joint need?
Firgelli’s engineering guide puts the minimum viable bar at roughly 15 N·m/kg peak at module level, calls 25 competitive and 35 state of the art, against 5–10 N·m/kg for typical industrial servo actuators. Linear joints are judged on specific force instead, with a target above 4,000 N/kg.
Is Unitree’s 189 N·m/kg figure real?
It is a published claim for the M107 joint motor on the H1 spec page, and it is best read as a motor-level figure: the page does not state what mass sits in the denominator. It is not comparable to module-level numbers like the AK80-9’s ≈45 N·m/kg peak, which include reducer, encoder and driver.
Why do peak and continuous torque density differ so much?
Peak torque is a short burst limited by current and magnetics; continuous torque is limited by how fast the joint sheds heat. The same CubeMars AK80-9 is rated 9 N·m continuous but 22 N·m peak — a factor of 2.4 in density from one line of the datasheet to the next.
Does higher torque density always make a better joint?
No. Chasing density with a very high gear ratio costs back-drivability and raises reflected inertia, which hurts contact safety and force control. Quasi-direct-drive designs deliberately give up some torque density to keep the joint transparent. The right joint balances density against controllability, cost and heat.
Sources
- Unitree — H1 specifications (knee 360 N·m, hip ≈220 N·m, arm ≈75 N·m; M107 joint motor; 189 N·m/kg peak torque density claim; ~47 kg robot)
- Firgelli — Humanoid Robot Actuators: The Complete Engineering Guide (industrial servos 5–10 N·m/kg; >15 / >25 / >35 N·m/kg peak thresholds; >4,000 N/kg specific force for linear units)
- CubeMars — AK80-9 robotic actuator and AK80-9 V3.0 (9 N·m rated, 22 N·m peak, 485 g, 9:1 ratio; densities computed by humanoid.guide)
- TechBuzz China — Humanoid Robotics Tracker: Actuators & Motors (frameless motors 2–5 N·m/kg; 25–35 powered joints per robot; ~28 reducers per robot; Chinese supplier landscape)
- Schaeffler — Planetary gear actuator for humanoid robots, CES 2026 (integrated rotary actuator, 60–250 N·m)
- Wensing et al., IEEE Transactions on Robotics 2017 — Proprioceptive Actuator Design in the MIT Cheetah (design principles linking torque density, gear ratio and reflected inertia)
- Hackaday — A budget quasi-direct-drive motor inspired by MIT’s Mini Cheetah (what the Mini Cheetah actuator recipe costs to reproduce)
- ZHR Robotics — Robot actuator torque density comparison method (rated vs peak density methodology; why no single architecture guarantees the highest density)
- The Korea Herald — Hyundai Mobis to supply actuators for Atlas (actuators ≈60% of a humanoid’s material cost)
